By Mark Lonsdale, Judo Training Development

Built on scientific studies and widely used in the Canadian National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP), Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) is driven by the logic that sports training and coaching must be appropriate for the age and development of the participant or athlete. Even though individual development is a variable, and there are recognized differences in development between boys and girls, within LTAD there are seven fundamental stages with recommended age ranges for each level.

  1. Active Start (Under 6 years)
  2. FUNdamentals ( 6-9 years)
  3. Learn to Train (8-12 years)
  4. Train to Train (11-16 years)
  5. Train to Compete (15-23 years)
  6. Train to Win (18+ years)
  7. Active for Life (any age)

Within these seven stages there are also other training objectives such as Playing to Learn, Learning to Play, or Training to Excel, but the primary goal is to match the training and sports development to the developmental age and interests of the participant. At the same time the coach is working closely with the individual to make their sports experience enjoyable, worthwhile, and challenging. To help achieve these goals, coaches must constantly work to improve their coaching skills and understanding of child development and athlete development.

Image drawn from the Canadian NCCP programs

Image drawn from the Canadian NCCP programs

About Mark V

Dedicated shooter, seeker, traveler, teacher, trainer, educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s